Skip to main content

CHRISTCHURCH, NZ, 26 March 2015 – ARANZ Geo, a world leader in the interpretation and visualisation of geological data for the mining, environmental, renewable energy and other geologically dependent industries, will contest the PwC Hi-Tech Company of the Year 2015 category in this year’s New Zealand Hi-Tech Awards.  The company was named a finalist alongside Xero, Shotover Camera Systems and Serko. 

ARANZ Geo was also named as a finalist in the Duncan Cotterill Innovative Hi-Tech Software Product 2015 category.  The Awards attracted a record number of entries from companies across New Zealand.

Shaun Maloney, Chief Executive, ARANZ Geo, says, “It’s a real honour to be named a finalist in two categories alongside some of the country’s top hi-tech companies.  We’ve been growing extremely quickly as we continue to expand our global footprint.  Being shortlisted for two categories is a great acknowledgement for our team, which is truly world class.”

ARANZ Geo is well-known as the developer of Leapfrog 3D geological modelling solutions for the mining, hydrogeology and geothermal industries. The very first geological modelling tool of its kind, Leapfrog is now an indispensable tool to reduce risk associated with geological modelling and is relied on by the top ten mining and exploration firms to enable better decision making.

Wayne Norrie, Chair of the Hi-Tech Trust says, “This year’s finalists span the full spectrum of the hi-tech sector with a record number of new companies entering for the first time.”

This year’s strong line-up of international judges includes renowned American business strategist, Gary Hamel; co-founder of Apple, Steve Wozniak; founder of Massive, Claudia Batten; Director of Engineering for Google in New York, Craig Nevill-Manning; Senior Vice President for Cisco, Howard Charney; Andy Lark; CMO of Xero and Managing Director for IDG Ventures, Pat Kenealy. A local judging panel of more than forty joins the international judges.

Winners in each category will be announced on 15th May 2015 at a black-tie gala dinner to be held at the TSB Arena, Wellington.